Philosophy does not serve the State or the Church, who have other concerns. It is useful for harming stupidity, for turning stupidity into something shameful. 4 When I did my degree in philosophy I discovered so much about myself and how I fitted in the world. “The practice of philosophy is a process benefiting the whole of society. The tools taught by philosophy are of great use in further education, and in employment. March 3, 2011, Harri Daniel, Comments Off on Benefits Of Philosophy. The key point to remember is that philosophy is not a collection of facts to be memorized - it is a methodological approach to thinking and problem solving, which is highly valued in a number of professions. The Uses of Philosophy in Today's World Rick Garlikov. The invisible hand is a metaphor for how, in a free market economy, self-interested individuals can promote the general benefit of society at large. 2 Philosophy is the birthplace of science and mathematics.

It serves no established power. Despite the seemingly abstract nature of the questions philosophers ask, the tools philosophy teaches tend to be highly sought-after by employers.

Philosophy simply means gaining knowledge of those around us, and since we all desire to improve in all aspects of our lives, many times we find ourselves engaged in philosophical reasoning and speculation. Additionally, philosophy demonstrates that problems often have multiple solutions, and teaches its students to approach problems from a number of different perspectives ("lateral thinking"). A philosophy that saddens no one, that annoys no one, is not a philosophy. Benefits of Philosophy. Benefits Of Philosophy. All have come out of philosophy when a methodology has been established. The use of philosophy is to sadden.